Build the friendship

Yesterday I was driving and wondering whom I should call, just to say hi.

“Joy K.” was my brain’s answer. She is a distributor in my company, but not in my organization.

I pushed the earbud into my right ear and voice-dialed the call.

She was in the grocery store when I reached her. And she was pleasantly startled to hear from me.

“You made my day!” was one of her comments.

Readers, remember that the people IN your company are part of your network. What are you doing to create friendships and trust within your company? Even though you are “competitors,” you also have a common cause to spread the word about your company.

If your company policies allow it, I challenge you to reach out just to say hi and build a friendship with a distributor who is NOT in your organization… some one from whom you receive no income from their activities.

If you are not allowed to do that. then reach out in friendship to a distributor in your organization whom you rarely talk with… perhaps someone 2 or 3 layers deep in your team. You might not seem like a big deal to yourself, but to them you are likely That Famous Person They Only See In Their Genealogy Or Hear On A Conference Call.

And whomever you talk to, avoid talking about business. Ask them what event they are looking forward to this summer, their favorite summer food, what movie they’ve seen lately. See if you can find some social-life common ground.

Build the friendship. It just might make their day.

–LYnn Selwa, “The Rocket Science Coach” ™

#lynnselwa #therocketsciencecoach #crosspollination #appreciation #buildthefriendship

Comments are closed.