Let it rot

“Just a friendly reminder that you [have] only 1 more day of replay access to the __________________ event videos. Replay access ends on April 6th at 8:30 am Central time. “

This message landed in my email inbox yesterday.

I don’t know about you, but I am somewhat addicted to personal development.

When I read a personal development book, I underline and make notes in the margin. (Thank goodness we can easily afford to buy the books instead of relying on the public library volumes.) When I show up in person to a training session, I am vying for the front row, or as close to the front as possible. When there’s a livestream, I watch as many sessions as I reasonably can and take handwritten notes… then quickly post a summary of the talk in our distributors-only Facebook group.

The event referenced in the email was a 3-day livestreamed seminar with more than 20 presenters. I was learning powerful insights in each of the sessions.

And I was grateful for the month-long access to the full-session recordings. The completeness of the content combined with the length of time to watch lessened my fear-of-missing-out.

And when I was just getting started in this profession, I had a significant fear of that opportunity passing me by.

Here’s how I compensated.

When I was a distributor in my first network marketing company, I let the training get out of hand. I always had another conference call, Saturday “advanced training,” or book. Goodness knows I needed lots of guidance, as I was still developing an entrepreneur’s self-discipline and body of knowledge. But I went too far.

Eventually I allowed myself to understand that I was using those tools to procrastinate from doing the scarier actions: meeting people, calling to set appointments, and asking for the sale.

When I joined my current company 10 years ago I made a decision. I would attend seminars and/or study personal development information, but at a reduced rate. I promised myself to be more honest with myself regarding procrastination. I recognized that the “shiny new object” syndrome gets activated in my brain not by new shoes or the latest technology toy, but by being easily distracted by the new or ‘scarce’ book, seminar, or training session.

And over the past decade I realized that wanting to buy and hold and renew large quantities of such information WAS a flareup of the old “I’m getting passed by” thought process.

When I received that email, I thought back through the past month. I watched about half of the sessions in real time. Then last week I took 2 chunks of time to watch the remaining recordings, knowing the one-month watching deadline was coming soon.

I was confronted with an offer in that email: pay X amount of money to have “lifetime access” to these recordings, or lose access to them forever.

I asked myself two key questions.

  1.  Did I watch and take notes on the specific sections that I was most likely to apply?
  2.  What is the likelihood I will ever watch those sessions again?

The answers:

  1. Yes.
  2. Near zero. (and do I want to ‘hoard’ those materials, even the access to them?)

I chose to let it expire. (and I will gladly register for the next year’s livestream)

Sometimes a forced purge is helpful.

This time it was best to let the offer rot.

–LYnn Selwa, “The Rocket Science Coach” ™

#lynnselwa #therocketsciencecoach #LetItRot #personaldevelopment #networkmarketing #residualincome #email #lifetimeaccess #twoquestions #choosyist

Postscript:

Hoarding information is one way I tried to capture the elusive “secret to success.” It’s elusive because there’s no single such secret. And I realize that feeding my brain with positive and uplifting information is the important thing.

(Yes I will hang onto many of the personal development books I read over the years. This isn’t a call to go so-called ‘minimalist.’ Perhaps it is a call to go ‘choosy-ist.’)  –LS

 

Comments are closed.