Everyone is watching the prophet

A social media post caught my eye today.

It asked a long-standing question, which I will summarize: If you see a celebrity marketing a new item and you buy it… why do you say No to a friend doing the same? After all, you don’t know the celebrity and she/he certainly has plenty of money already.

It’s the struggle of being what is called “a prophet in your own town.”

Consider that your parents, siblings, cousins, and friends already know you.

That’s supposed to be an advantage, right?

Well, sometimes it is. And sometimes not.

They know you… but in a particular role. You’re their family member or friend, but you are also a stay-at-home parent, insurance agent, nurse, accountant, or police officer. They feel comfortable seeing you in that role. And they’re used to seeing you relate to the working world in that manner.

They may subconsciously be asking themselves, “Why is this person changing? I didn’t know they had a burning love for (product). And they can barely pay the bills— so why should I believe ANYTHING they tell me about making big money?”

Perhaps you are one of the fortunate ones who already is making lots of money in your current line of work. Your family members and friends might be more willing to listen, since you already seem to have “a good head” about making money. Then again, maybe not.

When I joined my first Network Marketing company in 1996, I approached my extended family members first, just like I was trained to do by my sponsor. All but one said No, and several of them were downright mean in their comments. I felt angry and embarrassed when I reported my lack of progress in the next training meeting. And the next. And the next.

Sometimes it is easier to go where no one knows you.

If your situation is similar to what I experienced, concentrate on meeting and building relationships with business people who don’t know you. They won’t have a preconceived notion of who you are supposed to CONTINUE being.

When I joined my current company I said very little to my extended family, but I joined and concentrated on people I met in a weekly business referrals group.

You can do the same. Attend business networking groups and meet other entrepreneurs and decision-makers. Your local Chamber of Commerce is a good place to begin. Stay in touch by wishing your new acquaintances congratulations, happy new year, happy birthday, or passing along a tip about their profession or hobby. These actions build trust and visibility.

By the way, when people say No, they continue watching.

They’re watching to see if you are in this for the long term.

Be businesslike. Be committed to building, at the pace that is right for you.

It’s tempting to buy things you can’t afford, simply to “look successful.” It’s a trap. Please avoid it.

Simply keep taking business building actions, and some of the doubters will turn into believers.

And they will brag about your product, as if they were one of your earliest supporters.

Let them. And smile all the way to the bank.

–LYnn Selwa, “The Rocket Science Coach” ™

#lynnselwa #therocketsciencecoach #prophet #everyoneiswatchingtheprophet #networkmarketing #longtermcommittment #business #looksuccessful #money #bigmoney #residualincome #bank #smileallthewaytothebank #socialmedia #smile

Comments are closed.