“Can’t afford convention. Maybe next year.”

“Can’t afford convention. Maybe I’ll attend next year.”

Have you heard your team members say that? Or perhaps another distributor at your weekly meeting?

It’s important to respect one’s budget. However, the benefits of attending your company convention are worth the investment in money and time. As one field leader in my company said this week, “Leaders are made at convention.”

So how do we help the people who say, “I’ll attend convention when my business is making enough money to send me”?

Here’s what I did last September.

I woke up in my hotel room the morning after the convention, wondering how to bridge people across that “affordability” gap. I began asking myself a few questions. #talkingtomyself #powerfulproblemsolvingmethod

“What’s a reasonable way to save money for convention?” I asked myself.

My answer: Save money every week or month, from whatever income source(s) you have.

“What’s the biggest stumbling block to doing that?”

My answer: Keeping the idea & excitement of attending fresh in mind, to bolster the long-term commitment.

“How do we make that easier?”

My answer: weekly or monthly reminders.

Later that morning I launched a “Convention Savers” group on Facebook, strictly for active Distributors in our company, regardless of “downline affiliation.” I posted a photo from the just-concluded convention and announced the group’s intention in the company’s private Facebook group.

Each Friday I post a photo in that “Convention Savers” group and include a “Friendly Weekly Reminder” for people to contribute money to their individual savings methods.

Each Friday I also post that same photo with its story in our company’s private Facebook group, where our distributors can go to ask advice and celebrate successes. The photos are from my personal archive of all 10 of our past conventions, and I tell the story of what’s happening and my reactions (sometimes embarrassing!) to that situation. I conclude that post with an invitation to join us in the “Savers” group and its link.

I encourage the Savers group members to have a separate place dedicated to keeping the convention money. Some people use an envelope or jar. Others opened a separate savings account.

We have more than 140 members in the Savers group, and those distributors come from many groups in the company. I’m looking forward to talking with group members at the convention later this year, to see how the group helped them attend the event & how I can post more effectively.

If you hear the “maybe next year” comments in your meetings and conversations, consider launching your own “Savers” group!

–LYnn Selwa, “The Rocket Science Coach” ™

#lynnselwa #lynnselwaTRSC #TheRocketScienceCoach #maybenextyear #directsales #networkmarketing #mlm #convention #conventionsavers

 

Comments are closed.