I’ve fallen and I CAN get up!

Handling shame, vulnerability, and living in authenticity are topics we encounter each day as Network Marketing Professionals. Sometimes the people we thought we could count on to encourage us… end up being the most hurtful.

This week I had the pleasure of participating in a live Question and Answer forum with author Dr. Brene Brown, a research professor at The University of Houston studying vulnerability, courage, shame, and authenticity. www.brenebrown.com

Did you watch her video? Brené’s 2010 TEDx Houston talk, The Power of Vulnerability, is one of the top five most viewed TED talks in the world, with over 19 million viewers.

I devoured her 2012 book “Daring Greatly” and am looking forward to digging into her brand-new “Rising Strong: The Reckoning. The Rumble. The Revolution.”

“Rising Strong” tackles an important question: how do people get RE-started after encountering a hurtful comment… or a harsh lesson from life?

From other sources I have learned that people with high IQ tend to ruminate about mistakes or insults… spending lots of time wondering WHY things went wrong. Or WHAT they did wrong. And replaying the scene many times.

Does that sound like you?

Well, I know it sounds like me. And I encounter that same phenomenon in people I coach in network marketing. So I want tools to help me guide people out of that depressive spiral.

During the Q&A, this is what I asked.

LYnn: Among my professional responsibilities is the informal coaching of colleagues who approach me for advice. Many of their struggles contain stories about handling hurtful comments about their “failures” coming from their family, friends, or business acquaintances. What is an effective way to use your research to help them?

Dr. Brene Brown: I think the Living BIG chapter in Rising Strong could be very helpful and the shame chapter in Daring Greatly!

Rocket Science Coaching Fans, if you have not read those two books, I highly recommend you  do!

and now it’s time to savor my copy of Rising Strong, which arrived in the mail this afternoon…

–LYnn Selwa, “The Rocket Science Coach” ™

#lynnselwa #lynnselwaTRSC #TheRocketScienceCoach #brenebrown #daringgreatly #risingstrong #networkmarketing #residualincome #NetworkMarketingProfessional

Comments are closed.