Switch the focus

How do you get rid of fear?

The scene: hospital waiting room. Television on.

A maintenance worker steps into the room and stands, watching the news broadcast, waiting for the weather report.

I paraphrase my colleague’s point of view:  “I wanted to approach him, to ask him an icebreaker question and open a conversation about this business. Fear silenced me, and after he left the room, I was angry with myself for remaining silent. I’ve been a distributor for nine years, and I can’t seem to move past the paralyzing fear. Help!”

My personal observation is… when fear comes up, it generally comes from focusing on oneself. (Blog Reader, do you agree?) And fear tends to be diminished by “depersonalizing” the activity: focus on what the other person will gain, focus on “being robotic” by simply dialing the call and thereby”earning” the right to check off that activity, focus on “I get a STICKER for asking the icebreaker question, regardless of what you say!”  To diminish fear, somehow move the focus away from one’s emotions.

The advice I gave:

When you feel fear or hesitation, it comes from focusing on what YOU can “get.”
Switch the focus to what this business can do for them, and it will be easier to approach people.

–LYnn Selwa, “The Rocket Science Coach” ™

#lynnselwa #lynnselwaTRSC #TheRocketScienceCoach #networkmarketing #fear

Comments are closed.