The Rhythm of Perfectionism

sepia square Hand on drum

One of my personal struggles is with perfectionism.

As an engineer, being precise was an asset. Making sure– doubly sure– the numbers and analysis were correct could save a million-dollar satellite… or save lives for staffed missions. Plus, my continued employment hinged on how consistently and quickly I could be precise.

In contrast, in network marketing the mindset for outreach is  “good enough” and “just do it.” As motivational speaker T. Harv Eker is known to say, “Ready, Fire, Aim.”

Can you imagine I found it difficult to adopt the new mindset? And in some ways, I’m still dealing with that “perfection” mindset. It creeps into my business in subtle ways.

Do you find yourself saying, “I need more practice, more information, another training session, more time, a cleaner desk?”

That’s the voice of perfectionism talking.

It has a cadence:

Practice, practice, practice, practice, practice, practice, Do, Adjust. (and maybe hide for a while, if the Do-ing didn’t go smoothly)

Does that rhythm sound familiar?

If you have similar challenges, you have plenty of company! And you might receive some benefit from reading this post by Seth Godin.

In the 18+ years I have worked in the network marketing profession, I have learned to catch myself earlier and earlier, and change the beat to

Practice, Do, Adjust, Do, Adjust, Do, Do, Do.

Let it be OK to mess up a little in your presentation. It makes you more human and relatable.

Scared about messing up? Imagine your potential distributors are saying to themselves,

“If that’s their best presentation, and they’re making money, well I’m gonna be a ROCK STAR in this business by comparison!”

(you can stumble your way to success!)

Choose the beat of the MLM drum, and stumble your way to success if you need to!

–LYnn Selwa, “The Rocket Science Coach” ™

#lynnselwa #lynnselwaTRSC #TheRocketScienceCoach #networkmarketing #mlm #THarvEker #SethGodin #perfectionism #TheRhythmOfPerfectionism #drum #rhythm #StumbleYourWayToSuccess

Comments are closed.