a “legal” entrepreneur

I’m celebrating 21 years since leaving the 9-5 workday world!

squarecrop numerals numbers 21

(here in the USA, legal alcohol drinking age is 21… hence the “legal” reference)

Back in high school and college, I wanted a “safe, secure ob with good benefits, working in a research-and-development lab.” (I actually remember saying those exact words to my older brother!).

Unlike other college classmates and eventually other aerospace engineers on the job, I had no plans to earn an MBA (Master of Business Administration degree). And as I watched my older brother read and talk about business books from the bookstore, I thought he was nuts. It seemed to me… being a business owner was a very risky way to earn a living.

Then I got laid off.

Seeing that first unemployment insurance check in the mail seemed unreal. I never wanted to be in the position of needing government assistance to help pay the bills. And that check didn’t come close to doing so.

I could see how fickle full-time employment could be. And I knew I didn’t want to spend the rest of my life working really hard and wondering if it was enough to dodge the next round of layoffs.

Within 6 months of being laid off, I reinvented myself as a computer software trainer, launching my business and gathering contracts to piece each month’s pay together.

My last part-time employment was in 2002, working for a fast-food restaurant in the San Fernando Valley of Los Angeles. (Lots of insightful business, life, and money blueprint lessons there… I will explore those on future posts)

Living life as an entrepreneur has been an adventure- sometimes frustrating, other times joyful. One thing is for sure: the entrepreneurs I have met are much happier and self-motivated than the employees I worked with.

If I could relive those years, I wouldn’t change a thing.

–LYnn Selwa, “The Rocket Science Coach”(tm)

#lynnselwaTRSC #therocketsciencecoach #theEntrepreneurialLife #residual income #network marketing #betheboss

Comments are closed.